Behaviour Management

Today I had an induction session in my new school which focused at first on a very common school issue: behaviour management.

As a teacher now with 6 years of experience I was not in the same position as the NQTs in the meeting, but I did learn some useful tips today that I thought I would share as we are at the start of a year where any behaviour management tips are useful, particularly for someone in my position, having just started at a new school.

Top tips:

1) see 3 before me – pupils have to seek help from three others before asking me. This is an idea from Kagan structures which my school is really focussed on using and which I am still finding out more about.

2) blocking – to be used to get a pupil to do what you want, basically just repeat what it is that you want an individual to do and keep repeating it until they do it! Don’t forget to use positive language and to say thank you at the end too! Eg. Open your book and write down XYZ, thank you.

3) stop and stare – when a pupil is doing something they shouldn’t, just stop mid flow, and stare at the pupil. They will look away – keep staring! They will look back, keep staring! Let them look away one last time and by then they should have stopped whatever it was they were doing and you can carry on.

4) proximity – move closer to the offender! Don’t take over their personal space completely, but get as close as you can to male the student feel your presence and to stop the poor behaviour.

5) blatantly obvious statement – if a pupil is doing something they shouldn’t or you don’t want them to do, just state what they are doing and they will automatically stop or pause what they shouldn’t be doing. eg. You are playing with a pen, you are taking etc.

6) positive praise- try to keep an eye on everyone and praise the good behaviour you see.

7) Put a difficult pupil in ‘intensive care’ (not literally) and really focus on their good behaviour that lesson and preempt ‘I don’t understand’ statements from them by going over to them as soon as you can

8) always be busy – if you have a pupil bouncing off the walls who you have to deal with (as HoD I would have pupils referred to me), always be busy for 30secs. Find something to do so that by the time you deal with them they are less reactive.

9) follow up, follow through – referral systems are in place for the worst situations, but you, as a classroom teacher should follow up any behavioural issues and follow through with the relevant consequence for your school.

Let me know if you have any more tips that once you heard you thought ‘I wish I’d been told that earlier!’

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

